I have home educated my own children for over 5 years. My 11-year-old daughter was recently offered a place at an independent high school for girls. She has also secured one of the 200 places available at a grammar school, which had over 1000 applicants. However, we have decided to continue to home educate throughout her secondary education, especially since she is now already studying towards iGCSE exams in maths geography and business studies – which she plans to sit in 2020.  My 7-year-old son is also thriving at home, he has never been to school.

I have supported parents and their children, with regards to learning in the home, over the past 10 years. This has included mentoring a boy throughout University, who has just graduated with a 2:1. Last summer, I supported a girl with her 11 plus preparation and she won the grammar school place that she was aiming for.

One of my youngest students is a 7-year-old boy, who I have supported with KS1 English Reading, Writing, Comprehension, SPaG and Maths. Since coming to me for tuition, he has gained the confidence to take an assessment for a place at an independent boys’ school – and he has passed!

My oldest student is a 13-year-old girl, who has recently deregistered from a local high school. I am supporting her with her home educating journey, which includes mentoring with planning and independent studies at home, as well as tuition support in KS3 maths, so that she is confidently prepared to begin the iGCSE course at 14 years old.

My other key students range from 9 to 11 years old, (currently Yr4 to Yr6), many of these are preparing for school assessments.

The support and tuition that I offer is unique in that it is very tailored according to my students’ needs. I pride myself on instilling a positive attitude towards learning, because I make it relevant and fun. For these reasons, good progress is made very quickly. I am also pleased to discover that most new students join me because I have been recommended to their parents.

Undoubtedly, I specialise in the familiarisation of England’s 11+ entrance exams for grammar schools: including Cognitive Ability Tests (also known as ‘CAT4’ or ‘GL’), and ‘Durham (CEM)’ selective testing. Additionally, I am knowledgeable in the preparation for bespoke independent school assessments, as well as for the SATs exams in the primary schools in England, (Year 2, KS1 and Year 6, KS2). My areas of expertise include: Verbal, Non-Verbal, Spatial and Numerical Reasoning; Literacy and Numeracy; as well as Comprehension and Exam Technique. I particularly enjoy making learning fun and relevant, as opposed to it being a chore. My students tell me that they love their sessions with me and their parents report that they have a distinctly more positive attitude to learning. I teach Maths and English up to KS3, whilst incorporating growth mindset and positive well-being.

I have always been restricted to as to the hours that I could dedicate to other people’s children, due to the commitment that I have had to my own children, and, in particularly, the transporting of them to evening and weekend dance/drama/sports clubs. However, the 2020 lockdown and temporary closure of these venues provided me with the opportunity to focus on my Core Learning Support business, so that I could plan the school holiday tuition provisions that I had always envisaged.

Tuition takes place face-to-face at my home in Newmillerdam, Wakefield, West Yorkshire. I use a large dining room, which enables social distancing. We follow the latest government guidelines, including regular handwashing, own drinks bottle, own stationery and not to attend if showing Covid-19 symptoms. Groups are no larger than 4 students.

Please contact me for more information.